太空鲜蔬


欧司朗智慧植物照明占领世界,放眼太空。

欧 司朗的一小步,却可能是航天事业的一大步。目前,我们正在为NASA(美国国家航空航天局)提供植物照明研究系统Phytofy RLs。美国航天局将在执行太空任务期间用其拓展粮食生产的研究。


在佛罗里达肯尼迪航天中心,我们的创新研究照明系统为NASA食品生产研究所采用。该系统包含一系列特殊的植物照明LED灯和智能控制软件。该中心的科学家目前正致力于研究为航天机组成员种植生菜和草本植物所需的理想照明条件。地球上的研究成果将为国际空间站 (ISS)高等植物培养项目提供参考。而太空种植成果也将帮助科学家更好地了解地球上农作物的生长条件。


城市与数字农业战略项目经理Steve Graves表示:“世界上的许多实用创新技术都来自NASA研究项目。很高兴我们的技术能够取得进一步创新。”


智慧农业未来愿景


NASA合作项目是我们研究的一部分,我们的目标是成为智慧农业解决方案领域的领先供应商。“我们希望未来能够真正地实现农业的智能化和自动化。”智慧农业业务负责人Timo Bongartz表示。集成传感器可保证理想生长条件,调节和控制光照、温度、湿度和CO2含量等环境因素。光学传感器则可监控植物生长和健康状况,同时中央软件平台与供应链相连,从肥料到收割机和买方各个环节层层把控。


项目还采用了我们的全新物联网软件平台“Lightelligence”。“我们的云基础平台将成为系统支柱。它将成为传感器数据分析、植物生长建模和供应链调度的基础,”Timo说道。自学习算法将在未来利用这些创建和优化数字生长模型。“我们已经汇集了实现愿景所需的所有‘原料’,下一步便是将其集成至一个系统之中。”对于欧司朗和未来植物种植来讲,这都是历史性的一大步。

智慧农业之路

我们收购了美国公司Fluence Bioengineering,并通过风险投资部门Fluxunit对加拿大创业公司Motorleaf进行了投资,从而完善了公司植物照明业务,并扩大了欧司朗在LED植物照明领域的领导优势。

Fluence Bioengineering 是世界领先的垂直农业和温室智能照明提供商之一。公司总部位于德克萨斯州,专门从事LED植物照明研究,并拥有丰富的照明方案数据资料。

Motorleaf 推出了出全球首个软硬件综合解决方案之一,从而成功掌握了先进的产量预测技术。例如,系统可通过人工智能和机器学习预测西红柿的收获量。

Fresh greens in space


How intelligent horticultural light from OSRAM is ­conquering the world – and soon space too.

Asmall step for OSRAM, but possibly a giant leap for manned spaceflight. We are equipping NASA with Phytofy RLs, our intelligent research lighting system for plant growth. The American space agency NASA is using it to expand its research into food production during space missions.

Our innovative research lighting system – a special array of horticultural LEDs ­coupled with intelligent software – is now being used by NASA Food Production Research at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Scientists at the center are studying the ideal lighting conditions for the cultivation of lettuce and herbs for space crews. The insights gained on Earth serve as input for the Advanced Plant Habitat aboard the International Space Station (ISS). The space findings, in turn, are helping to improve the understanding of growth conditions on Earth.

“Many useful inventions in the world have come from NASA researchers,” says Steve Graves, Strategic Program Manager of Urban & Digital Farming. “We are proud that our technology is making further innovations possible.”


The vision of the smart farm

The project with NASA is part of our research with the aim of becoming the leading provider of smart farming solutions. “Our vision is the intelligent, automated farm of tomorrow,” says Timo Bongartz, head of Smart Farming. Integrated sensors ensure ideal growth conditions, regulating and controlling environmental factors such as light, temperature, humidity and CO2 content. Optical sensors monitor plant growth and health.

Our new software platform for the Internet of Things, “Lightelligence,” is also being used here. “Our cloud-based platform will form the backbone of the system. It will be the basis for sensor data analytics as well as for modeling plant growth and networking the logistics chain,” says Timo. Self-learning algorithms will use all this in the future to create and optimize digital growth models. “We have put together the ingredients for fulfilling our vision, and our next step will be to combine them into one system.” This will be a giant leap – both for OSRAM and for plant cultivation of the future.


Our road to the smart farm


We have expanded our market leadership in the field of horticultural LEDs through the addition of further horticulture components with the acquisition of US-based company Fluence Bioengineering and investment through Fluxunit, our venture capital arm, in Canadian startup Motorleaf.

Fluence Bioengineering is one of the world’s leading providers of smart lighting in vertical farms and greenhouses. The company, which has its headquarters in Texas, specializes in LED-based horti­cultural lighting and has an extensive database of lighting recipes.

Motorleaf offers technologies for yield forecasting for which it has developed one of the world’s first software and hardware solutions. With artificial intelligence and machine learning, it can forecast the harvest yields for tomatoes, for example.